Available on limited edition heavy-weight vinyl and CD

  1. A Crow
  2. Dark Stream
  3. A Man of My Age
  4. I Heard Him Leaving
  5. Rules of the Burial
  6. The Force of Her Will
  7. Twisted Arrow (feat Kim Deal)
  8. Incalculable Things
  9. The Broken Light
  10. The Master
  11. A Fisherman

“acoustic warmth and world-weary depths”

Home Burial’s gently acoustic arrangements are easy on the ear – it’s tempting to simply luxuriate in the oaky warmth of The Force of Her Will, the crescendos of Broken Light or the slide-guitar Americana of Rules of the Burial. But there are depths worth exploring. The spare singing of Arborist main man Mark McCambridge, together with the economy of his lyrics, which dwell on success and failure and the passing of time, bring to mind Leonard Cohen or Bill Callahan. In particular, A Man of My Age feels like an instant classic: it has the world-weariness of the Go-Betweens, its quivering strings hanging like a question mark over the melody.

4-Stars – The Guardian

“A staggering debut of depth and substance.”

Quiet and pastoral, the subtle flourishes of brass, strings. piano and fascinating little guitar licks still bring a smile even when McCambridge is at his morbidly most brilliant, worrying about mortality on A Man of My Age, dark personal choices in Rules of the Burial, The Force of Her Wills womanly mysteries or death in general on pretty much everything else. A staggering debut of depth and substance.

4 Stars – MOJO Magazine

“A deliciously self-assured collection.”

It says much for Mark McCambridge that it only took an invitation to persuade Kim Deal to join him on debut single, Twisted Arrow, but even more that its sweet Americana is far from the only gem on this deliciously self-assured collection. Rules of the Burial‘s Uncle Tupelo-esque barroom folk finds sweet redemption in discovering that ‘Revenge tastes bitter and strange’. Best is A Man of My Age which articulates the claustrophobia of family life with sensitive frankness amid mesmerising, Smog-like languor.

8/10 – UNCUT Magazine

ARBORIST released their debut album Home Burial in November 2016 to critical acclaim. UNCUT 8/10 “A staggering debut of depth and substance", ★★★★ The Guardian "A Man of My Age feels like an instant classic" and ★★★★ Mojo "A deliciously self-assured collection."

Mark McCambridge played his first show as ARBORIST in 2014 supporting James Yorkston. A solo tour of Ireland followed before impressive performances led to notable support slots alongside Low, Cat Power, Echo and The Bunnymen and Guy Garvey.

Since the release of their debut single "Twisted Arrow" in 2015, Arborist have become somewhat cult properties, thanks in no small part to KIM DEAL (Pixies, The Breeders) contributing delicate harmonies to the song. A nonchalant and thoughtful piece of Americana, conceived in Belfast, it premiered on Stereogum and The Line of Best Fit with extensive play on BBC 6 Music. It was also featured in The Guardian Guide’s tracks of the week.

They are set to record their sophomore LP in 2019.


KILKENNY [Kilkenny Arts Festival]